Happy Birthday, dear Blue Boy of Brindavan!

By Sowmya Ayyar - August 14, 2017

Krishna! Krishna! Jai Shree Krishna!

In the Dwapara Yuga, you came to us, and divined the Bhagavad Gita, the great treatise of Yoga.

Till now in the Kali Yuga, we are mesmerized by your form, your thought, your action. The stories of your Leelas have been passed down from one generation to the next, through storytelling under banyan trees, to enacted plays, and even TV series and movies. Regardless of religious background, all Indians are familiar with the stories of Lord Krishna.

We celebrate your birth, oh Shree Krishna, through practicing yoga in our lifestyles, as taught by you on the Kurukshetra battlefield, where the virtues and vices fought for domination of the universe. Off the mat, we practice the philosophies of your teachings from the Bhagavad Gita, relevant to us even today, more than 5000 years after your departure from this Earth.

Dharma-- The first uttering of the Bhagavad Gita, we know then how important it is to our life and our world. Dharma, Krishna illuminates through the dialogue with Krishna as narrated to Dhridhrirastra by his seeing-eye Sanjaya, is none other than the decision-making power we each wield, in our every choice, every moment, every breath. It is our responsibility to make the choices that best serve the functions of the yamas and niyamas, that is, ahimsa (non-violence), satya (truth), asteya (non-stealing), brahmacharya (non-waste), aparigraha (non-possessiveness), saucha (purity), tapas (steadfastness), santosha (contentment),

Each of these decisions must be made for its ownself, taking into account the purpose and the repercussions on the self and the universe-- a different yoga for each moment. The Bhagavad Gita’s 18 chapters each provide insight to a different method of yoga, providing guidelines to practice the Truth of Yoga:

    1.Visada Yoga (Removal of the Sorrows of your duties)

    2.Sankhya Yoga (Understanding soul versus body, Acceptance of Soul’s Eternalness)

    3.Karma Yoga (Action and Duty)

    4.Jnana Yoga (Knowledge)

    5.Karma Vairagya Yoga (Action and Fruits of Action)

    6.Dhyana Yoga (Realization through meditation)

    7.Paramahamsa Vijnana Yoga (Knowing the Supreme Truth)

    8.Akshara Parabhrama Yoga (Attaining the Supreme)

    9.Raja-Vidya-Guhya Yoga (Highest, Confidential Knowledge)

    10.Vibhuti Vistara Yoga (Glorious Truth)

    11.Viswarupa Darsana Yoga (Seeing of the grandiose form of Brahman)

    12.Bhakti Yoga (Devotion)

    13.Ksetra Ksetrajna Vibhaga Yoga (Body, Soul, Supersoul)

    14.Gunatraya Vibhaga Yoga (Three methods of Materialism)

    15.Purusottama Yoga (Yoga of the Supreme)

    16.Deva-asura Sampad Vibhaga Yoga (Divine and Demon Natures)

    17.Sraddhatraya Vibhaga Yoga (Faith Systems)

    18.Moksha Upadesa Yoga (Renunciation)

From the Bhagavad Gita’s systematic division of yoga, we understand, that in life, we must each choose our own path to find our salvation, to reach our samadhi.